Gunta Jēkabsone has been elected Chairman of the Board of AST, Arnis Daugulis has been appointed Member of the Board for Development


On Thursday, April 22, the Council of JSC Augstsprieguma tīkls (AST) has selected Gunta Jēkabsone as the most appropriate candidate for the position of the Chairman of the Board, and Arnis Daugulis as the member of the Board for development. It is planned that the Chairman of the Board and a member of the Board will start their work in July.

Gunta Jēkabsone's previous professional work experience, including the last six years as CEO, is related to the largest fuel retail network in Latvia, SIA "Circle K Latvia", which is part of an international company listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange. At the same time, as the Chairman of the Board, Gunta Jēkabsone has also been active in the Foreign Investors' Council in Latvia (FICIL). She has a master's degree in business management, as well as supplemented her knowledge in various business management programs at the Riga School of Economics, Cornell University in the USA, as well as at the London Business School.

Up until now, Mr. Arnis Daugulis has held the position of the Head of the Information Technology Department of AST, as well as gained significant professional work experience as the Deputy State Secretary for Information and Communication Technologies of the Ministry of Environmental Protection and Regional Development, as well as a member of the Latvenergo AS (IT and telecommunications). Arnis Daugulis holds a master's degree in electrical engineering and is a licensee of engineering at the Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm (Sweden).

A total of 54 applications were received, of which 29 applications were submitted for the position of the Chairman of the Board, while 25 applications were submitted for the position of a member of the Board (development branch).

The selection process in cooperation with the personnel selection company Amrop was ensured by the nomination commission established by the Council of AST with voting rights in the following composition: chairman of the commission - chairman of the Council of AST Kaspars Āboliņš, nomination commission members - deputy chairman of the council of AST Olga Bogdanova, AST council members Aigars Ģērmanis and Armands Eberhards, Dzintra Gasūne, Head of the Corporate Governance Division of the Interdepartmental Coordination Centre, Dace Helmane, Head of the Association "Corporate Sustainability and Responsibility", and Aivars Āboliņš, Chairman of the Latvian Trade Union "Energy".

The nomination process for the Chairman of the Board of AST and Board Member (Development) took place in several rounds (four in total) and included an in-depth assessment of the following competencies: Strategic Vision, Change Management, Development Orientation, Team Leadership, formation and maintaining of Positive Relationship, decision-making, responsibility and result achievement orientation.

The AST nomination committee evaluated the candidates in each round of the competition, based on the evaluation criteria set by the nomination committee, in accordance with the description of the required competencies and professional experience requirements for the Chairman of the Board of AST and board member (development branch).

Members of the Board Imants Zviedris, Gatis Junghāns and Mārcis Kauliņš will continue to work in the Board of JSC Augstsprieguma tīkls.