Agreement concluded to connect the Baltics to the European power network synchronous zone


On 27 May 2019, the agreement for the connection of the Baltic states to the Continental Europe synchronous electric power network operation zone and its annex regarding the overall technical measures to be implemented for beginning synchronous operation took effect.

After the political decision to synchronise the Baltic states with Continental Europe was adopted last year, the transmission system operators (TSO) of the Baltic states, in cooperation with other European TSOs, prepared an agreement for connecting the Baltic states to Continental Europe, and on 9 May, the Continental Europe regional group TSOs approved the conclusion of this agreement, undertaking to sign it by the end of this year.

On 21 May 2019, the Latvian Cabinet of Ministers approved the plan to synchronise Latvia’s electric power networks with the European electric power system in 2025, and authorised the signing of the agreement developed by AS ‘Augstsprieguma tīkls’ and the other TSOs for the connection of the electric power systems of the Baltic states with the Continental Europe electric power system. Subject to the government’s authorisation AS ‘Augstsprieguma tīkls’ signed the agreement on 22 May 2019.